Federal University of Santa Catarina (UFSC)

The Federal University of Santa Catarina is a public university with its main campus located in Florianópolis, the capital city of the state of Santa Catarina in southern Brazil. UFSC is considered as one of the leading universities in Brazil and in Latin America.

The university is structured in 11 Academic Schools: Agricultural Sciences, Biological Sciences, Communication and Arts, Education, Health Sciences, Law, Philosophy and Human Sciences, Physical and Mathematical Sciences, Sports, Socio-Economic Sciences, Technology.

UFSC’s mission is to produce, systematize and socialize philosophical, scientific, artistic and technological knowledge, broadening and deepening students’ education for the professional practice, critical thinking, national and international solidarity with a view to building a just and democratic society and also guaranteeing quality of life.

The Federal University of Santa Catarina’s achievements are seen as a reference in Brazil and abroad. Its internationalization process includes cooperation agreements with educational institutions all over the world, with currently more than 300 partnerships.